LiGRE’s laboratory has been designed to offer university professors, lecturers and instructors a cloud-based tool dedicated to the teaching of qualitative research. In a nutshell, LiGRE’s laboratory allows teachers to follow and monitor their students’ progress through an intuitive and easy-to-use interface.
Laboratories have two main components: a management page and lab projects. Each of them is detailed below.
Once the laboratory is created, its management page becomes available through the lab owner and his colleagues’ home page. Only they can access the laboratory management page.
This page allows the lab owner to edit the lab’s information, involve colleagues and students in the laboratory, monitor the progress of the students’ lab projects, and distribute automatic transcription time amongst lab students.
The lab information is first set when it is created. It can be edited via the “Edit Laboratory” option.
The laboratory’s image can be changed using the “Edit Picture” option.
* Remember that the lab’s image and information (title, description, university, etc.) are used to set the default information of each student’s lab project; however, students can change their own project information within their project.
Invitations can be sent to both LiGRE users and non-users. Two types of invitations can be sent from within a laboratory:
- Colleague invitation
- Student invitation
Colleagues do not have lab projects. They work as substitutes for the owner and can access the laboratory’s management page and monitor the students’ progress. They can also invite or remove students from the laboratory.
Colleagues are invited through the ‘Invite Colleagues’ button under the Team section.
Once your colleagues accept your invitation, they are featured in the Team section of your laboratory’s management page.
Colleague settings can be edited by clicking on their avatar.
Students do not have access to the management page. They can only access projects in which they took part.
Students are invited through the ‘Invite Students’ button in the Student List section.
Once invited, students are immediately featured in the Student List report. Your students’ lab project status remains inactive as long as they do not accept your invitation. Their lab projects are automatically activated once they join in.
A student can be asked to join a laboratory several times through multiple invitations.
The option in the Student List report allows the lab owner and his/her colleagues to:
- Evaluate – This option brings up a modal window that allows the lab owner and his/her colleagues to write an evaluation on the students’ lab projects. This evaluation is only intended for the owner and his/her colleagues. Also, lab projects can be removed from this modal window. Removing a lab project from the student list will not delete it. Students will retain access to their data and work.
- Send Email – This option allows you to send an email to a student.
- Monitor Project – This option allows the lab owner and his/her colleagues to visualize the contents of the students’ lab projects; however, they cannot edit or export their content.
- Export CSV – This option allows you to download the content of the Student List report.
The progression column of the Student List report presents the project summary of each student’s lab projects.
Automatic Transcription Time Distribution
The options available in this section allow the lab owner to purchase and transfer automatic transcription time to the students involved in his/her laboratory.
* The laboratory time bank is directly linked to the lab owner. As such, the latter can either buy time or distribute the time that he already purchased in his projects. The lab owner retains the remaining automatic transcription time once the laboratory is closed.
Lab projects work exactly like any other regular qualitative project; however, they are dedicated to teaching. Their features are limited to permit only small-scale research projects. Also, lab projects have no public page, cannot be upgraded to premium, and their storage capacity is strictly limited to 1GB.
* Student lab projects are automatically archived when the laboratory is closed; however, students can continue to view the content of their projects via their archives. They can also reopen their projects to pursue them.